Dodge Caliber Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi I am new to the caliberzforum and wasn't to sure where to post this. But I need HELP.

I have a 07 sxt dodge caliber and need to replace the struts. Where is the best place to get them and what brand is the best to get? I want them to last and not blow out as fast as the OEM brand did so I am not to postive about buying them from dealer.

Help please. Thank you

·
Registered
385 Posts
i got KYB for mine.i was planning on just buying whatever autozone had in stock, but they only had kyb and it was like 20 dollars more than the other brand. so check their first so you dont have to deal with shipping time. i really love them so far,

·
Registered
3,504 Posts
that is what I would do.. buy a good brand and take them to an honest mechanic for installation.. it should still be way cheaper than a dealer.. good honest mechanics are hard to find..but I live in a small town so they can't cheat anyone if they want to make money..

·
Registered
9,770 Posts
I agree with Tex about the procedure and with tjohnson104 about the KYB's. They're very good struts.

·
Registered
8,302 Posts
There are 3 different brands available:
KYB, Monroe, and whatever one Chrysler sells.

I used KYB on mine - they have a "stellar" reputation.
Some people like Monroe, others hate 'em.
The Chrysler ones are no-names units from whoever sells them to Chrysler the cheapest - steer clear!

·
Registered
8,302 Posts
An added note - most of the "store brand" units are rebranded Monroes.

·
Registered
385 Posts
yes i bought the kyb when i saw one wass broken when installing my lowering springs and the combo is soooo smooth and awsome! and actually the installation isnt to hard either for new struts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #8