Dodge Caliber Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi i have a dodge calibre 2007 2.0 ltr crd 140cv sxt limited my problem is when i drive locally around town the clutch pedel works fine but when i go on a long journey the clutch pedel goes right down to the bottom so i pump the pedal up & down a few times it is still not right but i can get my self home ive checked the fluid & thats fine when the peddle goes it comes back on its own any advice would be much appreciated thanks jonboy

·
Super Moderator
12,405 Posts
Has the master cylinder already been changed?

I have a similar issue, new master, air bled, but still have to pump before a journey after a day parked. My next step would be a new slave (already bought) but it's inside the bell housing so normally swapped with a new clutch plate.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Has the master cylinder already been changed?

I have a similar issue, new master, air bled, but still have to pump before a journey after a day parked. My next step would be a new slave (already bought) but it's inside the bell housing so normally swapped with a new clutch plate.
Hi my clutch is OK when it's parked up its only when I go on a long journey if I park up when I get were I'm going let it cool down & then pump the pedll up & down a few times I can keep going would you say it might need bleeding thanks

·
Super Moderator
12,405 Posts
I tried it because it's a cheap option, made no difference and mechanics said there were no air bubbles.
My thinking is if I can live with it then do nothing.
What else could I do? Change fluid or do a pre-emptive cutch plate change or dismantle the housing to verify no clutch wear while changing the slave.

·
Registered
718 Posts