Dodge Caliber Forum banner

1 - 20 of 143 Posts

·
Registered
77 Posts
ADMIN NOTE: This is an issue that is cropping up as the years go by on these cars. This thread should give all pause to think. It will help those that have the fortitude to dig into these cars and trace a simple fix that requires long hours to get to that point. One has to wonder why a car that has such an elaborate electrical system would not have been built with more protection of the wiring harnesses. Post #60 links to a picture of the main harness that is at issue.

Hello all...newbie here. I have found this forum quite helpful so far....read a lot here! Here we go.... I have a 2008 Caliber (wife's car). The wife went to leave yesterday morning and problem! No crank, no click, no nothing. After beating my head and several google reads, I got some great reads here. I did some digging under the hood. I find out no power to the solenoid lead to the starter when the key is cranked. I was misinformed by her uncle (ex Dodge dealer mechanic), that I had to find the starter relay. Which I did find the relays in the wheel well ahead of the front drivers tire. Of course, they are never marked. So with my test light and some digging I traced the wire back to the TIPM. From what I can gather with the few tools I have....the TIPM is not allowing juice through it to the solenoid to engage the starter. Everything else works just fine and the battery is only a year old. Another victim of the dreaded TIPM? We haven't had the car even a year yet. Any advice, tips or anything would be great!! I'm kinda wondering if it is possible to pick up a used one....money is tight (as always!). I heard you can't put a used one in.

·
The Organizer
15,004 Posts
Do the reset: http://www.caliberforumz.com/showthread.php?t=39192