Dodge Caliber Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Newbie here with a medium mechanic level. I have a 2007 dodge caliber 100k+ miles 2.4 awd with a mil cel p0420 code showing up. I have replaced the o2 sensors reset codes and code reappears. Took to dealer to reflash computer, reset MIL, code p0420 still reappears. I am now currently removing the cat/maniverter to clean and inspect.

BUT... I have the manverter completely loose inside the engine compartment after pulling all the bolts, and have now realized after fighting it, that it doesn't want to come out the top. How is this cat supposed to come out of the engine compartment? If it comes out the bottom it looks like the steering rack, cross member and half shaft all have to be removed?

P.S. The exhaust manifold has 2 2" long cracks on the top that appear to leak a small amount of exhaust , anyone think this could cause the p0420

·
Registered
8,302 Posts
First welcome to the forum.

You can find a link to a service manual download at the top of this section to get details on maniverter removal.

Yes a cracked exhaust manifold will affect the exhaust gas composition and might cause the P0420 (cat efficiency) fault code to be set.
Usually, a cat lasts the life of a car, so the cat itself is likely not the problem, and obviously a cracked and possibly leaking exhaust manifold is very dangerous (CO and the like).
Also, if you check your warranty book, emission related issues are covered under a federally mandated special extended warranty in most cases.

·
The Organizer
15,004 Posts
I suggest if you're going to do your own work you download a free copy of the service manual in the "Manuals" section.

And yes, an exhaust leak of any kind will cause a P0420 code to be set.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks! Luckily I have a miller 110 on hand to weld the cracks in place, replace and reset, maybe I won't have to pull it completely out.