Dodge Caliber Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I have never posted here before mainly cause I have had nothing to add that wasn't already covered so here I go. I have a R/T 5 spd So this morning when backing out of my driveway I went to push it from reverse to 1st but for the life of me it would not budge from reverse, i had the clutch pushed all the way down and i even tried shutting the engine off and still it would not go out of reverse. I finally gave it a good hard shove and it went into neutral so I put it in 1st position and when i started to let the clutch out it popped out and I had to hold it into 1st to get going . Any Ideas as to what the heck is going on? I'm new to standards i've been driving my caliber for just under a year now with no major problems till this. My dad took it out after I left for work and he had no problems with it but took it to the dealers anyway. Just looking for ideas so my dealer does not just tell me to deal with it.

·
The Organizer
15,004 Posts
Did you try pumping the clutch at all? If it does it again, I'd have the dealer check it out. It could be the beginning of a warranty covered issue.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I didn't really pump it I shut the engine off and let the clutch out and tried again but no luck it was only after a good hard shove that it popped into neutral. Its currently at the dealers right now and they will check it out tomorrow. Was just wondering if anyone had any ideas as to what could cause this. Other then this problem I love the car, for a "compact" car its huge and does every thing I need it to.

·
The Organizer
15,004 Posts