Dodge Caliber Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
  1. I am somewhat new to repairs but normally I know what I'm doing. Either with service manuals or youtube instructions. I was in the middle of changing out the hub bearing, in the process i decided to change the inner and outer tie rod and stabilizer link also. Anyway, i am having issues getting the bolt out from the control arm. It wont spin, I sprayed it with PB I have tried jacking up different spots, and a hammer... Any suggestions? I also discovered what looks like missing pieces from the knuckle where the hub fits inside... can anyone tell me what I should do or if this is a problem and how to get the bolt out from the control arm to remove the knuckle?
    20200517_220726.jpg
    20200517_220717.jpg
    20200517_220732.jpg

·
Registered
26 Posts
I’d try using a small torch to heat up the nut before trying to remove it.

The heat will expand metal, the nut, making it slightly larger than the bolt, and should come off.

If not, try heating the whole area - the metals expanding and contracting at different rates will break any stubborn rust holding things together.

Other options; using a long breaker bar (with a heavy-duty socket), an impact wrench (again, with a heavy-duty impact socket), or a bolt splitter.

If this is for the rear, keep in mind that the “nut” on the upper part is welded - the bolt needs to be removed from the [almost impossible to get a wrench to fit] forward-facing side.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you for replying! The problem is not with getting the nut off the bolt. The nut is off, I cant get the bolt out of the holes...
20200518_154330.jpg
20200518_154308.jpg
20200518_154234.jpg

·
Registered
26 Posts
Have you tried using a tool called a “pickle fork?” It’s used as a wedge between the balljoint and the part you’re having issues with.

Harbor Freight has them for like $10.